Skip to content
cardrip
Gemint logo29 of 38 terms published

How Gemint works and makes money

You pay in a browser, one Pokémon item is revealed, and it sits in Gemint's vault until you sell it back or ship it. Pack pages say 90%. The terms fix no rate.

Tap the pack to walk one rip at Gemint, with its own published term at each step. No money, no real cards; the art is illustration.

A rip, step by step

Tap a step. Each figure opens the page it was read on. A dashed tile is a term not found on Gemint's public pages.

1. Sign up and fund

8 of 9 terms published
  • Minimum age
    18

    Read on the operator's own page

    “You may use the Services if you are at least 18 years old”

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    From its own terms or store listing.
  • US states excluded
    Not published

    We looked and the operator does not publish it

    The terms say the service “may be unavailable in certain U.S. states or other jurisdictions” and that “the current list of Prohibited Jurisdictions and restricted features is available on the Site, including in our Help Center”. The help centre holds two articles, the terms and the privacy policy, and neither lists a state.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    The terms say the service “may be unavailable in certain U.S. states or other jurisdictions” and that “the current list of Prohibited Jurisdictions and restricted features is available on the Site, including in our Help Center”. The help centre holds two articles, the terms and the privacy policy, and neither lists a state.
  • Runs on
    Web

    Read on the operator's own page

    The site and its script link to no app store. A US App Store search for “gemint” returned no app from this operator. A mobile web layout is served at app.gemint.io/wap.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    Where you can open an account and buy.
  • How you pay in
    Card, balance or crypto

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    “credit or debit card, other supported payment methods, Gemint Balance, and supported Digital Assets, as indicated at checkout”.
  • Who charges you
    Clearlake Inc.

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    The seller of record. The charge shows “a descriptor referencing GEMINT and/or the applicable payment partner”.
  • Entry gate
    “I am 18+ and I agree”

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    Every page opens on it. Selecting it accepts the terms and the privacy policy.
  • A wallet
    May be made for you

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    “a blockchain wallet may be created for you”, run by a wallet provider the terms do not name.
  • Crypto sent wrongly
    May be lost

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    An unsupported asset or network “may be permanently lost”, with “no obligation to attempt recovery”.
  • Sales tax
    Added where required

    Read on the operator's own page

    Checked 7 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    “Prices may not include applicable taxes.” Where the law requires it, tax is added at checkout.

2 terms this guide does not cover: the pull-rate figures behind the entry gate and the $10 coupon and referral offers.

This guide covers the mechanics only. Whether it suits you is in the Gemint review, and the basics of the format are in what card ripping is.

Where the money goes

One pack, followed from your payment to what arrives. Only terms read on Gemint's own pages enter the sum.

Pack price
The card is valued at
Gemint publishes no average for this pack, so the sum starts from an assumption. Dashed choices are assumptions, not published figures.
  1. You pay$100
    The price of one Champion pack.
  2. Card value (assumed)$100
    An assumption, not a published figure. Gemint sets the value its offer is based on.
  3. Sell-back offer−$10$90
    Rate:
    90%

    Read on the operator's own page

    “Instant sell back 90% of FMV”

    On every pack page read. The terms fix no rate: the price is “based on its FMV, less any fee disclosed to you at the time of the transaction”, FMV is set by Gemint “in our sole discretion”, and sell-back is not guaranteed for any card.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    of the value Gemint sets, before the fee.
  4. Arrives as Gemint Balance credit−$2.70 fee$87.30
  5. Selling fee
    3%

    Read on the operator's own page

    “Your payout is 90% of the market value, less a 3% platform fee.”

    The text of the reveal panel, read in the pack page's own script. The panel appears after a purchase, so it was not seen rendered. The pack page itself says 90% and does not mention the fee. The terms allow fees to vary by card and account.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    Paid as
    Site credit

    Read on the operator's own page

    “Sellback proceeds are credited to your Gemint Balance.”

    The terms call the balance “a store credit balance”, and say “you may withdraw eligible amounts”. No public page says a sell-back is paid in USDT or any other token.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    Can be withdrawn
    Yes

    Read on the operator's own page

    “you may withdraw eligible amounts through the withdrawal methods, minimums, and limits shown on the Site”

    Subject to identity checks and tax forms. Gemint “may delay or decline a withdrawal”, and promotional credits cannot be withdrawn.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
  6. On the assumption that the card is worth the pack price, $12.70 of the $100 does not come back. Gemint publishes no average card value, so the real figure cannot be worked out. What does come back is Gemint Balance credit, not cash.

Run the same sum for every app in the cash-back calculator, weigh the three exits in keep, sell or ship, or see every app's exit terms on the cash-out page.

How Gemint makes money

Only lines its own documents state, or that follow from its published numbers. Nothing here is an estimate.

Stated on its own pages3
Follows from its published numbers1
Not published4
  • Stated on its own pages

    Sell-back discount

    10% of the card's value

    Read on the operator's own page

    “Instant sell back 90% of FMV”

    The published rate is 90%, less a 3% selling fee. On every pack page read. The terms fix no rate: the price is “based on its FMV, less any fee disclosed to you at the time of the transaction”, FMV is set by Gemint “in our sole discretion”, and sell-back is not guaranteed for any card.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    The offer is 90% of the value Gemint puts on the card.
  • Stated on its own pages

    Fee on a sell-back

    3% of the offer

    Read on the operator's own page

    “Your payout is 90% of the market value, less a 3% platform fee.”

    The text of the reveal panel, read in the pack page's own script. The panel appears after a purchase, so it was not seen rendered. The pack page itself says 90% and does not mention the fee. The terms allow fees to vary by card and account.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Open the source
    The text of the reveal panel, read in the pack page's own script. The panel appears after a purchase, so it was not seen rendered. The pack page itself says 90% and does not mention the fee. The terms allow fees to vary by card and account.
  • Stated on its own pages

    Storage after an account closes

    No amount statedYou have 90 days after closure to ship or sell your cards. After that the terms say Gemint “may charge reasonable storage fees”.Read the source
  • Follows from its published numbers

    Total cut on a sell-back

    12.7% of the card's value90% less a 3% fee leaves 87.3% of the value Gemint sets. The rest does not come back to you.
  • Not published

    4 lines its own pages do not state

    • Pack price above average card valueCannot be worked out
    • Shipping or retrieval fee
      After sign-in

      Only visible after signing in

      “Shipping, handling, and insurance fees, if any, will be shown before you confirm your request.” The checkout script lists a carrier rate, prepaid duty and import tax, and a fixed service fee. No amount is public.

      Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    • Pack battle platform feeNot published
    • Reselling a sold-back cardNot published

What Gemint pays for its cards, its margins and how the business is doing are not published, and we do not guess. Whether the numbers can favour a buyer at all is the subject of is card ripping worth it.

The clock after the reveal

How long each choice stays open, from Gemint's own pages.

  1. The revealThe card is revealed and the clocks start.
  2. Until it shipsYou can cancel a shipping request. Once the card has shipped you cannotRead the source
  3. 7 days from deliveryTo report a damaged, incomplete or wrong parcel, with photographsRead the source
  4. 30 days from agreeingTo opt out of arbitration, by email with your name and addressRead the source
  5. 90 days after closureTo ship or sell your vaulted cards if the account is closed, by you or by GemintRead the source
  • No limit stated

    We looked and the operator does not publish it

    No automatic sale is described. Cards stay in the vault until shipped or sold back; after an account is closed there are 90 days to redeem them.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    No automatic sale is described. Cards stay in the vault until shipped or sold back; after an account is closed there are 90 days to redeem them.
  • Not published

    We looked and the operator does not publish it

    “Processing and delivery times shown on the Site are estimates only.” No estimate is on a public page.

    Checked 6 Oct 2026.

    Shipping, once you ask for the card

A 90% the contract does not fix

The same sell-back, as Gemint words it in three places on 7 October 2026, and three more of its terms.

On the pack page“90% of FMV”“sell it back to GEMINT at 90% of market value”. No fee is mentioned there.✓ Read at sourceSource
On the reveal panelLess a 3% fee“Your payout is 90% of the market value, less a 3% platform fee.” Read in the page's script, not seen on screen. 3% of what is not stated; sums here take it from the payout.✓ Read at sourceSource
In the termsNo rate at allThe price is “based on its FMV, less any fee disclosed to you at the time of the transaction”.✓ Read at sourceSource
The fee can vary byCard and account“the Card, your account activity, transaction frequency, holding period, or our assessment of risk”.✓ Read at sourceSource
Sell-back itselfNot guaranteedNot “for any particular Card, at any particular time, or at any particular price”.✓ Read at sourceSource
Pack battlesRules not publicClassic, Reverse and One Shot rooms are listed. The terms say only that one player gets “the main allocation” and the rest “a single card”.✕ Not confirmedSource
If your state is barred laterShip and withdraw onlyGemint “may limit your account to redemption of vaulted Cards and withdrawal of eligible Gemint Balance”.✓ Read at sourceSource
A card lost in the vaultReplaced or creditedGemint chooses: the same card “in the same or better grade”, or its own value for it as balance.✓ Read at sourceSource

Who is behind Gemint

The names on its terms, its store listings and its partner pages. Sourced facts only.

Legal entityJ Lab Ltd. (British Virgin Islands); seller of record Clearlake Inc. (Delaware)The terms add: “Clearlake Inc. is the seller of record for purchases through the Services”. The site footer names only Clearlake Inc.✓ Read at sourceSource
Who takes and pays moneyClearlake Inc.A Delaware affiliate, doing business as “GEMINT”. It can enforce the payment and balance sections of the terms itself.✓ Read at sourceSource
Registered officeTortola, BVI“Sea Meadow House, P.O. Box 116, Road Town, Tortola”. The address for J Lab Ltd. and for formal legal notices.✓ Read at sourceSource
Where the cards come fromNot publishedThe terms call Gemint “an online retailer of physical trading cards”. How it buys them is not stated.✕ Not confirmedSource
Who values the cardsGemint itself“in our sole discretion”, from “recent sales data, market listings, condition, grade, and other factors”.✓ Read at sourceSource
Graders on recent pullsPSA, CGC and BGSOn the $250 pack's page on 7 October 2026. Grades “are not assigned, reviewed, or guaranteed by Gemint”.✓ Read at sourceSource
Payment partnersNot named“licensed third-party payment partners engaged by Clearlake”. The privacy policy names none either.✕ Not confirmedSource
RegulatorNot registered with anyBy its own terms, “not registered or licensed with” any “securities, commodities, or other financial or banking regulator”.✓ Read at sourceSource
DisputesAAA arbitrationBritish Virgin Islands law, no class actions, and a claim must be filed within one year.✓ Read at sourceSource
Liability cap$100 or six months' spendWhichever is greater. The cap does not apply to a card lost in the vault.✓ Read at sourceSource

How the other apps work

The same walk-through for each of the others, then every review and the pages that set two apps side by side.

Reviews and head-to-heads

Questions about how Gemint works

How does Gemint work?

You pay a fixed price in a browser, from $5 to $250, and one Pokémon item is revealed. Recent pulls on the $250 pack's page were graded slabs; 13 of the 14 items shown for the $5 pack were sealed boosters. It is held in Gemint's vault. You can sell it back for Gemint Balance, have it shipped, or leave it there.

How does Gemint make money?

Its own pages state: sell-back discount, fee on a sell-back and storage after an account closes. From its published numbers: total cut on a sell-back. Not published: pack price above average card value, shipping or retrieval fee, pack battle platform fee and reselling a sold-back card. We do not estimate margins or what Gemint pays for cards.

Where do Gemint's cards come from?

That is not published. The terms call Gemint an online retailer of physical trading cards and say grades come from independent grading companies. Recent pulls on the $250 pack's page were PSA, CGC and BGS slabs. How Gemint buys its stock, and where the vault is, is not stated.

Is Gemint's sell-back really 90%?

The pack page says 90% of FMV, which is Gemint's own value for the card. Text in the reveal panel says “less a 3% platform fee”. The terms fix no rate, let the fee vary by card and account, and do not guarantee a sell-back at any price.

Which company are you buying from on Gemint?

Two are named. The terms are a contract with J Lab Ltd. of the British Virgin Islands. Purchases and withdrawals are transacted with its affiliate Clearlake Inc., a Delaware corporation, which is the seller of record and the only name in the site footer.

Alexander Korsager

Alexander Korsager

Every figure was read on public pages between 6 October 2026 and 7 October 2026. Nothing here has been tested with money yet. cardrip earns nothing from Gemint.