Skip to content
cardrip

ID checks on card rip apps: who asks, and when

Most apps let you buy first and ask for ID when you want money or a card out. This is what each app's own pages say it asks for, read on 7 October 2026. Nothing here has been tested.

require an ID check before a withdrawal6 of 17
require one before a first pack1 of 17
put a dollar figure on tax forms2 of 17
Rips by TriumphID before a withdrawal
  1. First packNothing stated
  2. WithdrawID checkFacePayout
  3. ShipID checkFace
  4. Tax lineTax ID

One app, every trigger

Pick an app. Tap a row to read the operator's own words and open the page they are on.

Rips by Triumph

ID before a withdrawal · read 7 October 2026
What Rips by Triumph asks for at each moment
WhenID checkFaceTax IDPayout
Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
RequiredRequiredNot statedRequired
RequiredRequiredNot statedNot stated
Not statedNot statedRequiredNot stated
May be askedMay be askedNot statedNot stated
  • Requiredrequired
  • May be askedmay be asked for
  • Not statednot stated
  • Not confirmedpages not read

Before a withdrawal: Rips by Triumph

Left open by its pages: Which tax form, and which of the two dollar figures applies.

“May” means the page keeps the right to ask, not how often it does. A dash means the pages read say nothing, which is not the same as no check. “ID check” is any identity verification: the quote shows whether a photo ID is named.

Every app at one trigger

Switch the trigger to see who asks for what at that moment. Apps that require the most come first.

Before a withdrawal: an identity check is required at 6 of 17 apps read, and may be asked for at 6 more.

What each app asks for: before a withdrawal
AppID checkFaceTax IDPayout
Rips by TriumphRequiredRequiredNot statedRequired
Rip RushRequiredRequiredNot statedRequired
PhygitalsMay be askedMay be askedRequiredRequired
CourtyardRequiredNot statedNot statedRequired
Stadium VaultRequiredNot statedNot statedRequired
Crown CardsMay be askedMay be askedMay be askedRequired
RepackzMay be askedNot statedNot statedRequired
Arena ClubNot statedNot statedNot statedRequired
RipitNot statedNot statedNot statedRequired
RipRip.ioRequiredNot statedNot statedNot stated
BOXED.GGRequiredNot statedNot statedNot stated
LastpackMay be askedMay be askedNot statedNot stated
GemintMay be askedNot statedMay be askedNot stated
PackzMay be askedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Tilt RipsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
rip.funNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Underdog RipsNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Fanatics Instant RipsNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmed
GameStop Power PacksNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmedNot confirmed
  • Requiredrequired
  • May be askedmay be asked for
  • Not statednot stated
  • Not confirmedpages not read

Payout routes, minimums and fees are on cashing out. Where each app is open is on availability.

Why a rip app asks for your SSN

The apps' own pages tie it to tax reporting, and to how much you take out in a year.

  1. $600Rips by Triumph: Tax forms required, and withdrawals pause until done.FAQ, updated 21 September 2026No commission
  2. $2,000IRS: Floor for reporting certain payments on information returns such as Form 1099-MISC, for tax years after 2025.IRS, Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC, revision 12/2026
  3. $2,500Rips by Triumph: Tax forms may be asked for.Terms of use, section 6.3(f), updated 5 October 2026No commission
  4. $2,500Rip Rush: Tax forms may be asked for.Terms, section 6.3(f), updated 19 August 2026No commission
  5. $10,000Repackz: An identity check may be asked for.Help centre, Withdrawal FAQ, last updated 9 June 2026No commission
  6. $20,000IRS: Floor for Form 1099-K from a third-party settlement organisation, together with more than 200 transactions.IRS, Form 1099-K FAQs: general information, 3 April 2026

Purple bars are an app's own figure, grey bars the IRS's. Bar length is on a log scale. Read on 7 October 2026. None of the pages read says which reporting rule the app is following.

2 of the 17 apps read put a dollar figure on tax paperwork, and Gemint is the only one to name the form in the pages read. The rest say “tax forms” or “tax information”.

What the form that carries an SSN is for
“Use Form W-9 to provide your correct Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) to the person who is required to file an information return with the IRS”
IRS, About Form W-9, page reviewed 27 June 2026
What the IRS says happens without one
“You may be subject to backup withholding and the payer must withhold at a flat 24% rate when: you don't give the payer your TIN in the required manner”
IRS, Topic no. 307, Backup withholding, page reviewed 24 September 2026

Rips by Triumph

Not asked for by name in the terms or the FAQ. The privacy policy lists it among the data Triumph keeps.“social security number if required to be collected”Privacy policy, updated 14 September 2026No commission

Phygitals

A condition of bank withdrawals.“only available to US Bank Accounts and US citizens/residents with Social Security Numbers/Tax ID Numbers”Docs, adding and withdrawing fundsNo commission

Courtyard

The terms have you confirm that any number you give is accurate. They do not say when one is asked for.“All information provided to Courtyard and/or its third-party designees by you, including your address and social security number or tax ID number, is accurate and complete.”Terms of service, last updated 23 December 2024No commission

Crown Cards

Named in the list of what a payout request may need.“taxpayer identification number, Social Security Number, Individual Taxpayer Identification Number”Terms of use, section 6.8, last updated June 2026No commission

4 of 17 name a Social Security number in the documents read. This page reports what is written. It is not tax advice, and it does not say which form applies to you or what you owe.

Who handles your documents

9 of the 17 apps read name a firm that runs the check or holds the payout account.

The firm each app names for identity checks or payouts
App and firm namedWhat the app's page says
Footprintfor Rips by TriumphRuns the identity check. Using Rips means agreeing to Footprint's own terms as well.SourceNo commission
Stripe Connectfor Arena ClubHolds the payout account. The terms bind you to Stripe's Connected Account Agreement and privacy policy.SourceNo commission
Coinflowfor RepackzHandles the payout. The help centre does not say who runs an identity check.SourceNo commission
Personafor CourtyardRuns the identity check. Courtyard's docs say: “We do not store your verification data.”SourceNo commission
Stripefor RipitRuns the identity check. The help centre says: “Your ID goes directly to Stripe; Ripit never stores your ID.”SourceNo commission
Verifffor rip.funRuns the check. The docs say rip.fun “does not receive or store personal identity data” and that it is deleted after 90 days.SourceNo commission
Verifffor BOXED.GGRuns the document check, by the help centre's account.SourceNo commission
Coinflowfor Stadium VaultRuns withdrawals and the check. The FAQ says the check “is not stored in Stadium Vault's database”.SourceNo commission
Verifffor Underdog RipsNamed in Phygitals' attached terms as its identity verification provider. Underdog's own terms name none.SourceNo commission

What a firm does with a document is set by its own terms, which this guide has not read. Statements about storage are the app's, quoted as written.

What a failed check stops

6 apps spell it out. Each card quotes what is held back until the check passes.

Rips by Triumph

A failed check goes to manual review, then to notarised documents. Until it passes, nothing can be withdrawn or shipped.“If you are unable to submit such documents your account will remain unable to withdraw or to ship cards.”FAQ, updated 21 September 2026No commission

Phygitals

Miss the deadline for a check and features can be restricted or pending transactions held.“Failure to complete the verification process within the specified timeframe may result in restricted access to certain features or a temporary hold on pending transactions”Docs, KYC policyNo commission

Courtyard

A payment partner's own check can hold a withdrawal after Courtyard's has passed.“Our payments partners may require their own KYC as well, and will not send funds until that is approved.”Help centre, 29 August 2026No commission

Packz

Packz may limit what the account can do until a check is finished to its satisfaction.“we may restrict permissible activities on the Platform and/or Your opening or use of a User Account pending any verification checks having been completed to our satisfaction.”Terms of use, section 8.2, updated 30 September 2026No commission

rip.fun

No passed check, no shipment.“Without completed KYC, physical fulfillment cannot proceed.”Docs, KYC processNo commission

Rip Rush

Without a passed check the terms give you no claim on your balance or your cards.“You specifically agree that you have no claim to any account balance or inventory items without completing KYC Verification”Terms, section 6.3(a), updated 19 August 2026No commission

Four things to look up before you pay

Each one is on a public page at the apps above. None needs an account.

  1. 1Read the withdrawal page firstThe check usually sits there, not at sign-up. Find it before you pay.
  2. 2Match the namesWhere a bank account is linked, apps that say so want it in the name on your ID.
  3. 3Note the yearly lineWhere a dollar figure is written down, withdrawals can pause when you cross it.
  4. 4See who holds the documentsIt is often a verification firm with terms of its own.

The wider checklist for an app you do not know is in are card rip apps legit?

Questions people ask

Why does Rips by Triumph need my SSN?

Its pages point to tax forms. The FAQ says Rips collects “your tax information” past $600 in a year and pauses withdrawals until the forms are done; the terms say $2,500 and “may”. Neither names the form. Its privacy policy lists a “social security number if required to be collected”.

Do I need ID to open packs?

Not to start, at most apps read. Ripit requires a check before a first pack, and Lastpack says one may come before you pay. Elsewhere the pages tie a check to taking money or a card out, or keep the right to ask at any time.

Can I get a card shipped without an ID check?

Not everywhere. 5 of the 17 apps read say a check must pass before a card ships, and 5 more say one may be asked for. The rest say nothing about it in the pages read.

Which apps are missing?

Fanatics Instant Rips and GameStop Power Packs: their pages refused our request on 7 October 2026, so every cell reads “not confirmed”. Rated apps not listed here have not been read for this guide yet. Each review has what was read earlier.

Sources31

  1. Rips by Triumph: Terms of use, updated 5 October 2026 docs.triumpharcade.com
  2. Rips by Triumph: Help centre, Withdrawing Cash, 18 August 2026 intercom.help
  3. Rips by Triumph: FAQ, updated 21 September 2026 docs.triumpharcade.com
  4. Rips by Triumph: Privacy policy, updated 14 September 2026 docs.triumpharcade.com
  5. Arena Club: Terms, last updated 31 August 2026 info.arenaclub.com
  6. Lastpack: Terms of service, last updated 15 July 2026 support.lastpack.com
  7. Phygitals: Docs, KYC policy docs.phygitals.com
  8. Phygitals: Docs, adding and withdrawing funds docs.phygitals.com
  9. Repackz: Help centre, Withdrawal FAQ, last updated 9 June 2026 collectibles.helpscoutdocs.com
  10. Repackz: Help centre, withdrawal options, last updated 30 December 2025 collectibles.helpscoutdocs.com
  11. Tilt Rips: Terms and conditions, section 21, last updated 16 September 2026 tiltrips.com
  12. Courtyard: Help centre, 29 August 2026 help.courtyard.io
  13. Courtyard: Docs, asset redemption and shipping docs.courtyard.io
  14. Courtyard: Terms of service, last updated 23 December 2024 docs.courtyard.io
  15. Courtyard: who runs the check docs.courtyard.io
  16. Ripit: Help centre, The Ripit Collector Journey support.ripit.co
  17. Ripit: Help centre, Adding a Bank Account support.ripit.co
  18. Ripit: Terms of service, last updated 11 August 2026 docs.ripit.co
  19. Packz: Terms of use, version 1.7, updated 30 September 2026 packz.io
  20. RipRip.io: FAQ on the how-it-works page riprip.io
  21. rip.fun: Docs, KYC process docs.rip.fun
  22. BOXED.GG: Help centre, crypto (ETH) withdrawals helpdesk.boxed.gg
  23. Stadium Vault: FAQ stadium-vault.gitbook.io
  24. Rip Rush: Terms, updated 19 August 2026 riprush.net
  25. Underdog Rips: Underdog Rips Terms of Use, section 5 underdogfantasy.pactsafe.io
  26. Gemint: Terms of service, last modified 2 October 2026 help.gemint.io
  27. Crown Cards: Terms of use, last updated June 2026 crowncards.io
  28. IRS, About Form W-9 (27 June 2026) irs.gov
  29. IRS, Topic no. 307, Backup withholding (24 September 2026) irs.gov
  30. IRS, Form 1099-K FAQs: general information (3 April 2026) irs.gov
  31. IRS, Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (revision 12/2026) irs.gov
Alexander Korsager

Alexander Korsager

Every figure was read on public pages between 6 October 2026 and 7 October 2026. Nothing here has been tested with money yet. The ID pages on this guide were read on 7 October 2026, from Germany. 2 apps' pages would not load and are marked “not confirmed”.