Sweepstakes casino vs card rips: what you actually buy
A sweeps casino sells coins for a game. A card rip sells one card. Two sweeps brands sell both. Tap each to see what your money buys.
By Alexander Korsager · Checked Oct 24, 2026
4 rated apps · pick your state · 18+ only · How we earn





Crown Coins, state by state
No account6 statesNo Sweeps Coins2 statesCrown Rips state listNot publishedIts restricted-states and social-mode articlesThe worked example ↓What $25 gets you on each brand
The same money on four apps: what it buys, what a card sells back for, and where that lands. Tap a step for its source.
- print a pack price
- 2 of 4
- print a sell-back rate
- 3 of 4
- sell a kept card back for you
- 4 of 4
- $25→
PrizePicks PacksPaid in dollars- 1$25 gets you
Packs $1 to $2,500
Read on the operator's own page
“Pack prices range from $1 to $2,500.”
The page gives the range only; whether a $25 pack is one of its prices is not stated.
Checked Oct 24, 2026.
Open the source - 2A card sells back for
100% of FMV
Read on the operator's own page
“Our buyback offer is 100% of your card’s FMV.”
100% of a value PrizePicks sets itself. The landing page names Card Ladder and ALT; the terms say 'one or more independent third-party collectible valuation services', which PrizePicks may adjust 'at PrizePicks' discretion'. It need not offer a buyback at all (terms § 7.8).
Checked Oct 24, 2026.
Open the source - 3Paid into
Cash
Read on the operator's own page
“you may close your Account and withdraw your Deposits and/or proceeds of accepting Buyback Offers at any time”
Terms § 6.2. The help centre says the proceeds are 'added to your PrizePicks balance and can be used across all PrizePicks products'; the landing page calls it the card's 'cash fair market value'.
Checked Oct 24, 2026.
Open the source - 4Left alone
Sold back after 3 days
Read on the operator's own page
“YOU MAY STORE IT FOR A MAXIMUM OF THREE DAYS”
Terms § 7.10, which lets PrizePicks shorten the period 'to not less than 24 hours', shown 'before you complete a purchase'; § 7.14 says it 'may be shorter than three days for certain purchases'. A ship-only card is shipped instead and the fee charged to your balance.
Checked Oct 24, 2026.
Open the source
- 1$25 gets you
- $25→
Underdog RipsPaid in dollars- 1$25 gets you
One $25 pack
Read on the operator's own page
“At this time, we offer $5, $25, $100, $1,000, and $2,500 packs.”
Checked Oct 12, 2026.
Open the source - 2A card sells back for
100% of FMV
Read on the operator's own page
“the buyback offer is set at 100% of FMV — the same value determined at pack reveal”
100% of a value Underdog sets itself, from Alt, CardLadder and its own pricing system. The terms give no percentage: 'you will be credited the fair market value'. The options article adds 'if that option is available for the card'.
Checked Oct 12, 2026.
Open the source - 3Paid into
Cash, in its ads only
The operator's marketing says this; its terms do not
“Keep it or flip it back for cash.”
The terms say only that 'you will be credited the fair market value'. Underdog balances are either withdrawable cash or bonus funds, and no page read says which one a Rips credit is.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 4Left alone
Sold back after 3 days
Read on the operator's own page
“Any card that remains in storage for three (3) days or longer will be deemed sold back to Underdog”
Rips terms, version 1.3, effective September 29, 2026. Four help articles also say 3 days. Underdog 'will attempt' 24 hours' notice by push notification and may extend the deadline.
Checked Oct 24, 2026.
Open the source
- 1$25 gets you
- $25→
Crown RipsA gift with coins- 1$25 gets you
A coin package, with a free pack
Read on the operator's own page
“You're purchasing a Crown Coins package. The Crown Rips pack is included as a free gift.”
A sold card pays 100% of its current Fair Market Value as Cash Balance; unsold cards are sold back at FMV after 3 days.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the sourcePackage prices not published
We looked and the operator does not publish it
No pack price: “The Crown Rips pack is included as a free gift” with an eligible Crown Coins package, and the package prices are shown in the store after sign-up.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
- 2A card sells back for
100% of FMV
Read on the operator's own page
“receive 100% of its current Fair Market Value (FMV) as Cash Balance”
100% of a value Crown Rips sets; “every collectible card has a Fair Market Value (FMV), which may change over time”. How FMV is set is not stated. A sale cannot be reversed.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 3Paid into
Site credit
Read on the operator's own page
“Sell your card instantly and receive 100% of its current Fair Market Value (FMV) as Cash Balance.”
“Cash Balance can be used for eligible purchases or redeemed if you meet the applicable redemption requirements.” The Redeem menu has a separate Cash option.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 4Left alone
Sold back after 3 days
Read on the operator's own page
“If no action is taken before the timer expires, the card will automatically be sold at its current Fair Market Value”
The proceeds go to Cash Balance.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source
- 1$25 gets you
- $25→
MyPrize PacksSweeps balance or dollars- 1$25 gets you
A pack, price not published
We looked and the operator does not publish it
No pack price is printed on a page read: the Packs page is drawn in the app and the help article names none.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
- 2A card sells back for
An offer shown at the sale
We looked and the operator does not publish it
“Offers are shown at the time of sale.” No percentage of a card's value is published, and not every card is eligible.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
- 3Paid into
Sweeps balance; dollars in California
Read on the operator's own page
“Sell eligible cards back to MyPrize for instant value you can use on the platform.”
In most states the credit goes to the standard MyPrize sweeps balance. Where sweepstakes play is closed (for example California) it goes to a US-dollar balance that is “for Packs only” and cannot be used on slots. The help article does not say whether sell-back credit can be redeemed.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 4Left alone
Sold back after 3 hours
Read on the operator's own page
“If you don't ship or sell a card within 3 hours of opening it, the card is automatically sold back to MyPrize and its value is added to your balance.”
Request shipping inside the same 3 hours to keep the physical card.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source
- 1$25 gets you
Only the dollar apps print a pack price. On Crown Rips the pack rides on a coin package, and on MyPrize the balance you pay from depends on your state. The two state bans' clauses are quoted on the sweeps and DFS rips page; neither text names cards.
Two worked examples: Crown Rips and MyPrize
Each step is a figure from the brand's own help centre. Tap one for the quote and the date.
Crown Rips: a pack that comes with coins
- 1You pay for
A Crown Coins package
Read on the operator's own page
“You're purchasing a Crown Coins package. The Crown Rips pack is included as a free gift.”
A sold card pays 100% of its current Fair Market Value as Cash Balance; unsold cards are sold back at FMV after 3 days.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 2The pack
Included as a free gift
Read on the operator's own page
“You're purchasing a Crown Coins package. The Crown Rips pack is included as a free gift.”
A sold card pays 100% of its current Fair Market Value as Cash Balance; unsold cards are sold back at FMV after 3 days.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 3A card sells for
100% of FMV, as Cash Balance
Read on the operator's own page
“receive 100% of its current Fair Market Value (FMV) as Cash Balance”
100% of a value Crown Rips sets; “every collectible card has a Fair Market Value (FMV), which may change over time”. How FMV is set is not stated. A sale cannot be reversed.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 4Left in the Vault
Sold for you after 3 days
Read on the operator's own page
“If no action is taken before the timer expires, the card will automatically be sold at its current Fair Market Value”
The proceeds go to Cash Balance.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source
No account in 6 states and no Sweeps Coins in 2 more. How Crown Rips works.
MyPrize Packs: the balance depends on your state
- 1In most states you pay from
The sweeps balance
Read on the operator's own page
“Packs are available more widely than our sweepstakes games, including in states where sweepstakes-style play isn't offered, such as California”
Most states use the standard MyPrize sweeps balance. In states without sweepstakes play, such as California, Packs use a US dollar balance that is for Packs only.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 2In California you pay from
US dollars, Packs only
Read on the operator's own page
“including in states where sweepstakes-style play isn't offered, such as California”
The only state the Packs article names. It prints no list of Packs states.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source - 3A card sells for
An offer shown at the sale
We looked and the operator does not publish it
“Offers are shown at the time of sale.” No percentage of a card's value is published, and not every card is eligible.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
- 4Not shipped or sold
Sold back after 3 hours
Read on the operator's own page
“If you don't ship or sell a card within 3 hours of opening it, the card is automatically sold back to MyPrize and its value is added to your balance.”
Request shipping inside the same 3 hours to keep the physical card.
Checked Oct 23, 2026.
Open the source
Its casino is unavailable in 14 states. How MyPrize Packs works.
Neither publishes a pack price: Crown Rips because the pack is a gift, MyPrize because its pages print none.
The four apps that sell rips inside a casino or fantasy brand
Pick a state: each card shows the rip and its parent product there. Tap a name for the review.
PrizePicks Packs3.9 of 5 · DFS- Rip
- Open
- Player Picks
- Open
Underdog Rips3.0 of 5 · DFS- Rip
- Open
- Drafts and Pick'em
- Open
Crown Rips2.3 of 5 · Sweeps casino- Rip
- Open
- Casino
- Open
MyPrize Packs1.2 of 5 · Sweeps casino- Rip
- Open
- Casino
- Shut
Currency, buyback, odds and every source are on casino, sweeps and DFS apps with card rips.
Questions people ask
Is a card rip a sweepstakes?
Not on the dollar apps: you pay for a pack and get a card. The two sweeps casinos here differ. Crown Coins says you buy a coin package and the pack comes free, and MyPrize uses its sweeps balance in most states. Both bans' texts name a dual-currency system; a pack priced in dollars has one currency, and neither text mentions cards.
Do the sweepstakes bans cover card rips?
Neither text read for this page names cards or packs. AB 831 and S5935-A turn on a game that simulates gambling with two currencies; AB 831 also reaches coins given with a related product. No court or regulator has ruled on rips: see are card rip apps legit.
Can I open MyPrize Packs in California?
MyPrize's Packs article names California as a state where Packs run, on a US-dollar balance for Packs only, and its supported-states article lists California among 14 states without its sweepstakes play. The MyPrize Packs walk-through has the rest.
Do I pay for a Crown Rips pack?
Not directly. Crown Coins' help centre says you are buying a Crown Coins package and the pack is included as a free gift. A card you sell pays its fair market value as Cash Balance. The Crown Rips review rates it.
Sources
- 1PrizePicks Packs: terms
- 2PrizePicks Packs: how a rip is paid for
- 3PrizePicks: terms
- 4PrizePicks: state list
- 5Underdog Rips: terms
- 6Underdog Rips: how a rip is paid for
- 7Underdog Rips: where the rip is open
- 8Underdog Rips: sell-back
- 9Underdog Rips: odds
- 10Underdog Fantasy: state list
- 11Crown Rips: own site
- 12Crown Rips: how a rip is paid for
- 13Crown Rips: where the rip is open
- 14MyPrize Packs: own site
- 15MyPrize Packs: how a rip is paid for
- 16MyPrize: state list
- 17California AB 831: bill text
- 18New York S5935-A: bill text

Every figure was checked between October 6, 2026 and October 24, 2026. The parent-product facts and the two bill texts were read on October 24, 2026. Nothing here says what the law of any state is.